Thursday, April 12, 2012

Ho Chi Minh (Saigon)

In Vietnam

Ho Chi Minh City formerly named Saigon is the largest city in Vietnam. It was the capital of the French colony and the independent state of South Vietnam, as an anti-communist state from 1955-75. Saigon fell on April 30, 1975 bringing an end to the War. Then vietnam was turned into a communist state. And in 1976, Saigon was merged with Gia Dinh Province and was officially renamed Ho Chi Minh City.

My wife and I visited some famous landmark in Ho Chi Minh City such as Reunification Palace, War Museum, Ho Chi Minh City Hall, Ben Thanh Market, Saigon Notre-Dame Basilica and many more...

The Reunification Palace formerly known as Independence Palace, was the home and workplace of the President of South Vietnam during the Vietnam War. It was also the site of the end of Vietnam War during the Fall of Saigon on April 30, 1975, when a North Vietnamese Army tank crashed through its gates.

Exhibits at their War Museum
-War Tanks

-Bombs used during the Vietnam war.

-Army chopper

The Ho Chi Minh City Hall was built during 1902-1908 in a French colonial style.

The Saigon Notre-Dame Basilica

Also called Basilica of Our Lady of Immaculate Conception is a cathedral established by French colonists and was constructed between 1863 and 1880. It has two bell towers, reaching a height of 58 meters (190 feet).

How to get there?

Tingnan ang Mas Malaking Mapa

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...